Smoke em’ if you got em’

Smoking.  My first cigarette was one that a friend of mine took from his mom’s pack and we smoked it on the way to school, I think it was a Liggett.  While I had my first cigarette at the age of 14, I was not a full-time smoker until I was 18.  The first thing that I did when I turned 18 was to buy a pack of cigarettes.  Up until that point, I had relied on friends that would give me one or my old neighbor who was a couple of grades above me and was old enough to buy them for me.   Looking back at that decision, I wish I would have never even started.

I have tried to quit smoking in the past (quite a few times) and after almost 12 years of being a full-time smoker, I think it’s finally time to quit.  I have tried the patch, gum, lozenges, and even Chantix but all to no avail.  This time, I am trying Wellbutrin and the nicotine inhaler. The inhaler is relatively new I believe but definitely expensive.  Hopefully this is the combination that helps me to quit.

I would like to be done smoking for good by my thirtieth birthday which is June 27.  Whether or not I will stick with it this time is hard to tell.  I smoke because I feel it helps me with some underlying anxiety issues but I am sick of it running my life.  I’m sick of the smell and the wasted money (almost $50/week) as well as the wasted time.  I have to have a cigarette after almost everything I do. I can’t think of any good reason to continue smoking, however I’m addicted. A majority of the time that I smoke, I don’t even really want to be smoking but I feel as if I need to.  My main problem with this whole quitting situation is what to do with the extra time that I will have from not smoking.  Since I smoke all of the time and associate it with everything I think that quitting may increase my anxiety as I won’t know what to do instead of smoking.  However, on the positive side, the Wellbutrin that they gave me supposedly decreases your appetite so I should be able to shed a couple more pounds!  Quitting should definitely also help my cardio so that is another plus.

I set my quit date for April 1st, to allow the Wellbutrin to build up in my system and to make sure that I can handle any side effects that I may encounter.  I will hopefully have an update on my progress with this in my next post and hopefully I can have some positive news!

Also, I ham including a picture of the inhaler and the whole package, this is what $350 worth of smoking cessation products looks like, I’m definitely thankful for my healthcare spending account card!

Leave a Reply

