Riding season is here, still no bike and an update on my smoking cessation effort

I need to vent a little bit here.  Riding season is officially underway and I have yet to be out on my motorcycle yet.  I have all of my upgrades done and have paid for the labor and should have it back already.  However, due to an issue with one of the suppliers, my new license plate bracket still isn’t in and it was supposed to come in the second week of March.  Apparently, there is still a week lead-time on the part and it won’t be available until April 13th.  I am not very happy about this and hope that it’s shipped and installed not long after that.  I hope that because of this mix-up I can hopefully get something out of the dealership such as a discount on my next service since I plan to put enough miles on after the semester ends to get me to my next recommended servicing.  I’m not usually like this and I know that sometimes accidents happen but I am losing valuable riding time that I can’t get back.  On the plus side though, the dealership did say they will deliver my bike back to me and waive the delivery fee since I have spent a lot of money with them!

Since I don’t have a lot more to say about that right now, I think I should also offer up an update on my smoking.  I have the Welbutrin to help me quit, however I think that I’m actually smoking more now.  Also, the pills give me extreme cottonmouth and a little bit of paranoia I think.  I must admit though that the paranoia could just be attributed to the fact that I saw it on the side-effects list.  I will say that the medication has helped me in other ways though, such as increasing my focus and allowing me to concentrate on my schoolwork which in turn allows me to get more done in less time.  It has also helped a little bit in speeding up my metabolism and suppressing my appetite at night.  Since I work late hours this has really helped me to stop overeating and going to bed right away after work.  I hope that it can actually help me quit smoking though but it’s going to be a rough journey either way and I can only hope that it gets easier the longer i’m on this medication.

Finally, as a side note, my workouts are going great.  I really do need to start working out my legs though as I’ve been focusing on my upper body and I am starting to look really disproportionate.  I took off from lifting this week because it’s been a rough one but i’m hoping that once the semester is over I can get back to killing it at the gym (and my home gym) and really focus on changing my body composition.

As an added bonus, here’s two pictures of my motorcycle after my upgrades:

I put on a detachable windshield, a two person seat, a detachable sissy bar, and passenger footboards.

Leave a Reply

